A short hello

Hi there,
I'm new to the world of filmmaking, have been studying for the past few months and trying to gather equipment together for shooting my first no-budget feature later this year.
I was wondering if anyone could reccomend a couple of good, but cheap lol DV cameras? I know I've gotta look for something second hand, of course I'd love a Canon XL-2 or similar but yeah, not loving the price range lol. I've been scouring ebay in the vague hopes of finding a bargin.

Speaking of costs, I have a question for everyone:

What would be your dream budget?
Obviously we could all go nuts on 80 mil lol but somewhat realistically, what would be a budget that you feel you could just have too much fun with?

Mine right now would be £10,000... Probably sounds stupid to most but omg the things I could do just on that? hehehe I'm gonna go and drool over the idea again, I look forward to getting to know you guys :)

~D

Welcome to the crazy and wonderful world of indie film. :) You are bravely venturing into feature films... I have not yet done so. One of the myriad of reasons I haven't is that pesky budget thing. :)

I have been involved in production on a feature with a budget of 'under $1,000,000.00' and it was pretty well run and I got paid. I am currently in pre-production on another feature (not my own) looking at a $200,000-$500,000 budget.

For myself, I have two feature projects I would love to make. One I think I can do for about $10K. The other will take $1.5 million to make well. It's special effects heavy and a period piece.

Tomorrow, I am shooting my next short film- with a budget of $200 (which is mainly for food for cast/crew). You work with what you have. :)

Cheers!

Lilith said:
You work with what you have.

Never a truer word has been spoken :)

It's amazing what you can do with a little imagination, or at least I hope it will be?