• Wondering which camera, gear, computer, or software to buy? Ask in our Gear Guide.

5100k cool flo lights

hi guys,
a friend recommended i use 5100k cool flo bulbs for low budget digital film, i havent had any experience with these (im only a newbie :D ) but they seem in expensive!! only problem i see is that you seem to need a lot of them to get a reasonable amount of light. not having used them i dont know the pros and cons of these,
can anyone enlighten me? (no pun intended!!)
what are your thoughts on these?
should i use them as my main lighting system?
or just get a bunch of the bulbs and stick them in the practicals??

You can get CFLs really cheap at your local Home Depot, in a variety of colour temps.

Cheap, long-lasting, almost no heat, uses little power, harder to blow fuses with 'em - there's lots to like about 'em.

only problem i see is that you seem to need a lot of them to get a reasonable amount of light

If you're replacing a single 1K light - then yes, you would need more than a single 100W equiv. That's why you see kits being sold with multiple bulbs.

I wouldn't use them as a main lighting system, but rather a part of a lighting system.

The problem with fluorescent lights is that they are always soft light, so it's like if you were using hard light sources (fresnel studio lighting, or halogen work lights) and always using a softbox, or indirectly lighting with them by bouncing off a wall.

While this is ok, and will get the job done some of the time, in cases where you want to create shadows, like projecting a pattern on the background with a cookie, and that sort of thing, you won't really be able to do it with a soft light source like a fluorescent.