directing 2 months in LA to make a short film

Hi everyone!

I am a French filmmaker and I have a crazy dream to come to LA to make a short film. I have been in California a few times already and I find it so inspiring! So my question is, how difficult would it be to find a skeleton crew and a few actors to work on 3 or 4 day shoot in Los Angeles? The thing is I know absolutely no one there, so I wouldn't even know where to start. I want to pay everyone but it wouldn't be much more than 100/day or something. I would be in California for 2 months total, so that's about 5-6 weeks to find the locations and the people. I already have most of the gear I need and some script ideas that will be tailored to the actors I find. Am I crazy or is it doable?

Thanks

Last edited:
Out of all the cities in america I would warn you that LA is one of the most expensive to film in.
People are gonna charge you premium money for locations that you want to shoot at.

I had a friend who was a producer in LA... one his movies they flew everyone out by me in maryland to film.
It was cheaper to pay for everyones transportation and lodging and film here in maryland and it would have been more expensive to just stay in La and shoot.

Hi everyone!

I am a French filmmaker and I have a crazy dream to come to LA to make a short film. I have been in California a few times already and I find it so inspiring! So my question is, how difficult would it be to find a skeleton crew and a few actors to work on 3 or 4 day shoot in Los Angeles? The thing is I know absolutely no one there, so I wouldn't even know where to start. I want to pay everyone but it wouldn't be much more than 100/day or something. I would be in California for 2 months total, so that's about 5-6 weeks to find the locations and the people. I already have most of the gear I need and some script ideas that will be tailored to the actors I find. Am I crazy or is it doable?

Thanks