• Wondering which camera, gear, computer, or software to buy? Ask in our Gear Guide.

Would you use software to generate end credit roll?

Hi everyone!!

I'm a developer trying to flush out an idea I got after watching the end credits of the kids movie Stitch!.

1. I was thinking do film people either in indie or pro use software to generate their end credit rolls?
  2. If so what do they use and is it easy to use?
  3. How long does it usually take to do?
  4. Do film editors usually have to go back and edit it after they make one? Like if they need to add additional names or what not.
  5. Would a film editor be interested in using a web app to do it?
  6. How much do film editors usually charge for this?

I know nothing about the movie industry or filming, so if anyone can help that would be great.
Just trying to figure out if its worth following.

Thank You!!

Last edited:
All of your questions can be summed up with one answer. Most editing softwares come with a generated ending credit plugin. All you have to do in type in the text.

All of your questions can be summed up with one answer. Most editing softwares come with a generated ending credit plugin. All you have to do in type in the text.

But is it easy to use and go back and edit?

Also do the plugins let you do more then just scroll text?
Like add blooper snippets while the credits scroll or add effects to text, add background images, etc?

Thanks!!

I was thinking do film people either in indie or pro use software to generate their end credit rolls?

umm... no. We hand write it on paper and whip out the camera ;)

I assume you mean specialized software. It's available. I don't use it. I use whatever editing software I'm using at the time.

How long does it usually take to do?
It depends. For basic stuff, it's about as simple as a copy and paste, alter size/font etc.