• Wondering which camera, gear, computer, or software to buy? Ask in our Gear Guide.

camera Working with profiles/exposure

Hello Everyone!

I am very new to filmmaking, currently I do some online courses and I have numerous questions regarding the set-up and theory, I will appreciate if community will help me to clear all the things up, as currently I feel it is a mess in my head and I am trying to make my understanding very well minded. All question I've googled and searched for a clarifications, but still I struggle to gain full understanding of the topic(s).
Trying to take my hobby as serious as possible. Sorry in advance for a long read.

Set-up
I have Sony A7M3
I was taught that it is better to use external monitor instead of camera monitor for better control of exposition/colors. I understand that I can buy external monitor & stabilizer and connect it all to the camera, however as of now it is costly for me so I am using Sony Imaging Edge Remote desktop application to have a monitor to my laptop. It is connected via cable.
Q1. It looks like it is not possible to do a wireless connection to monitor video Sony vs Imaging Edge Remote, am I right? If it is not possible, than I have to use sufficiently long cable to be able to move my camera. But maybe it is an awkward setup, your comments are welcomed.
Q2. I haven't found in Imaging Edge Remote any instrument that can show me if my video is over/underexposed. Anything like histogram or zebra. Is there anything that can show me this in Imaging Edge Remote?

Profiles
Many Youtube videos I've seen advise to use picture profiles (like slog) and the grade the video.
I'd like to do some footage in slog mode, but I am afraid if I took something wrong regarding slog concept - I can spoil the entire video.
Can you correct my understating please.