Which size lens do professionals use for film look?

Im a BIG noob when it comes to lenses. Im going get the Black Magic Cinema camera soon. Which lens size would be the best to get for the best all around looking shots?

If they ever get their production numbers up... haha

Professionals, and just about anyone with any budget hire a range of lenses dependent upon the film. Usually you rent a set of prime. A standard set of four is usually 25, 35, 50, 85, sometimes there may be an 18 as well (for a set of 5). These are not set - ie old Zeiss standard speed sets replace the 18 and 25 with a 16 and 24mm.

Then sometimes zooms are hired, often in addition to primes, either for certain shots and effects or for certain logistical reasons. Then there are also the different physical sizes of lenses - ie The Hobbit used Zeiss Ultra Primes as they are small and light compared to their Master Prime big brothers.

The largest budget movies tend to rent out comprehensive kits of Ultra Primes, Master Primes or Cooke Primes (s4/i or 5/i). These can be hired in sets of 7, 10, or more, depending on focal lengths needed. It really comes down to the DP and his discussions with the Director.

There's no way I could recommend one lens for any application, the answer is always: it depends. On the story, on your own needs, on the camera's sensor, on what other lenses you are getting, on what cinematic effects you want to employ etc. etc. etc.

Isnt it better to have a lens on your camera at all times, instead of just shooting all stock with no lens? Renting sounds good, if its not too expensive. Which lens is best to buy to keep on my camera instead of shooting just with the stock lens?

On my HV40 when I shot some garbage short films, the actors are taking up most of the screen space, so wouldnt it be better to have a non-stock lens on there to fit more scenery into the shot?