When did you realise you wanted to be a filmmaker?

I've always had an interest in becoming a film director. But I never took it seriously and always passed it off as one of those things you say as a child, like "I want to be an inventor when I grow up!"

I never really seriously considered it till around 2 years ago.

My dream back then was to become a Video Game Designer. I studied ICT and was determined to get into that. But the course wasn't what I expected, there was too much maths and coding and all that crap. I also found out the harsh reality of the Game industry . It's not so much creative, it's more technical. They don't care if you come up with an awsome video game idea or storyline, they only care about how good your degree is, how good you are at maths and physics and how good of a coder you are. Despite all this I just told myself that I had to work harder.

The course got harder and harder as I couldn't handle stuff like coding.

I don't remember the turning point when I said "I want to be a film maker!" But I always use to come up with ideas and storylines for Video Games. One time I remember telling myself...."these stories I come up with are actually much better suited to films than games....No one would want to play a video game about Samurai who would have to commit Hara-Kiri at the end of the game!"