software What do I need to get started?

Hi,

I'd like to start shooting a film. I have a smartphone and am going to get one of those swival holders. Suppose beyond that I need a editing software. Is there one out there folks would recommend?

Also, am I forgetting anything else? I just want to play around at first. Not looking to shoot Avatar out of the gate.

if you have a GPU that can handle it, davinci resolve is free and great for editing.
You want a reflector or bounce board of some kind too for outdoor filming, so you can cheaply add fill light and get rid of ugly sun shadows.

And then something for sound... sound can get really expensive and I'm not an expert or anything on sound to recommend you gear, but recording sound on a cell phone from 10 feet away isn't going to cut it for most viewers. Personally i have a sound devices mm-1 preamp and a audix scx-one for indoor audio, and recommend ntg-3 for outdoor audio.

Last edited:
if you have a GPU that can handle it, davinci resolve is free and great for editing.
You want a reflector or bounce board of some kind too for outdoor filming, so you can cheaply add fill light and get rid of ugly sun shadows.

And then something for sound... sound can get really expensive and I'm not an expert or anything on sound to recommend you gear, but recording sound on a cell phone from 10 feet away isn't going to cut it for most viewers. Personally i have a sound devices mm-1 preamp and a audix scx-one for indoor audio, and recommend ntg-3 for outdoor audio.
Thank you for the detailed response. I'll take a look at davinci.

I second DaVinci. It has editing, VFX, color, and sound mixing built into one application. Really is the best value for an indie filmmaker. For sound, a Zoom H4n is pretty cheap, but you'll need two mics and a cable to go with it, plus someone to operate. Why two mics? One for indoors, one for outdoors (in a nutshell).