• Wondering which camera, gear, computer, or software to buy? Ask in our Gear Guide.

WGA For everyone?

Hey guys, I'm an aspiring writer/director and wanted to know if any could give me some pros and cons to joining the WGA. I have been on there site several times and it seems like a step in the right direction for any aspiring writers but I was concerned what the WGA contracts mean in lame mans terms. It seems easy to get bogged down in all the legal terms they use. Can any sum up what the WGA does exactly and how it might restrict me when trying to sell or direct a script outside of the guild. Thanks for any insight you can shed on this topic.

The Guild isn't a step for aspiring writers. It's a bargaining collective that
sets pay scales, working conditions, residuals and credits. An aspiring
writer cannot join. A writer is admitted to the Guild if they make a sale
to a signatory company.

A member cannot sell a script to a company or person who is not a signatory
of the Guild. It happens all the time - I do it - but it's technically against the
Guild rules.

The pros are all studios and most TV are signatory to the Guild so in order to
sell to those you must be a member.

lame mans terms
This little slip really made me laugh!

WGA

Hey guys, I'm an aspiring writer/director and wanted to know if any could give me some pros and cons to joining the WGA. I have been on there site several times and it seems like a step in the right direction for any aspiring writers but I was concerned what the WGA contracts mean in lame mans terms. It seems easy to get bogged down in all the legal terms they use. Can any sum up what the WGA does exactly and how it might restrict me when trying to sell or direct a script outside of the guild. Thanks for any insight you can shed on this topic.

I am a professional screenwriter yet I am NOT a member of the WGA... I just don't do unions -- never have -- never will -- even though I am contacted FREQUENTLY to join.