True Filmmaking

i was talking with a few people the other day, and someone brought up that using digital means in the upcoming film Sin City is wrong because it's not "true filmmaking". That because Robert Rodiguez is using HD rather than 35 or even 16mm, it isn't "true filmmaking". I, along with a few others argued that the medium in which you film doesn't determine what "true filmmaking" is and that the term "true filmmaking" doesn't make much sense. I wanted to see what everyone here thought...

Discuss, haha.

This one's a tricky one. I have often called myself a movie maker. The reason being that as a digital filmmaker I feel the need to distance myself from the film medium. Not because I hate film or will never shoot on it, but because as of now I am not making movies on film.

I also call myself a filmmaker because "film" is a term that describes movies in general.

I don't know exactly where I stand on this, but one things for sure, I want to see Sin City.

Poke

my film teacher last year asked me if i was a filmmaker or movie maker, i said "i'm a cinematic magician, i make movie magic!" and then i did a little spirit fingers, hand thing, she just rolled her eyes and walked away...

and who doesn't want to see Sin City?? i can't wait!

Dimp Paddy said:
i was talking with a few people the other day, and someone brought up that using digital means in the upcoming film Sin City is wrong because it's not "true filmmaking". That because Robert Rodiguez is using HD rather than 35 or even 16mm, it isn't "true filmmaking". I, along with a few others argued that the medium in which you film doesn't determine what "true filmmaking" is and that the term "true filmmaking" doesn't make much sense. I wanted to see what everyone here thought...

Discuss, haha.

hahahaha.. dude.. are you talking about me?

hahaha no, i'm talking about a bunch of d*ckheads on a different forum :P