• Wondering which camera, gear, computer, or software to buy? Ask in our Gear Guide.

Tips on flow

Hey everyone. I'm very new to all this, and although I ultimately want to go into directing, I feel I want/need to start filming my own work as practice and to get experience using a camera before I go trying to direct someone elses work. Right now, since I have no actors, and I have no experience, I want to focus on documentary type filmmaking. I have a few decent ideas, but, my question is, does anyone have any tips on making a documentary flow? It seems when I play ideas out in my head, all I see is 15-20 minutes of clips played back to back using transition effects in an editing program. I'm having trouble taking an idea, and making it interesting, or making it flow together. Any tips?