• Wondering which camera, gear, computer, or software to buy? Ask in our Gear Guide.

the relationship between music and video

what do you think the relationship is between music and video? I feel like most of my video projects are heavily reliant on the music they accompany, does that make me a "type" filmmaker? I'm pretty inexperienced with film and production in general but let's just say I'm a very sincere hobbyist. Do you think music should be secondary to the imagery or should it play an equally important role in telling the story or portraying the mood you are shooting for? I think music and film can have a harmonious, symbiotic relationship when done correctly. Sometimes I even feel that there are certain songs I wouldn't have cared for at all if they hadn't been accompanied by appropriate imagery of some kind. It's like they make each other significant when played simultaneously while when separate, they are meaningless and dull. I really like the idea of pulling the best parts of both worlds into one piece - the reason I do video in the first place really is because I would have a bunch of random footage and starting the edit meant just dropping a favorite song into the timeline and building the edit off of that. Just wanted to see your thoughts on the relationship between music & film, and I guess also how you all started making films in the first place.

Sound and images in a movie/video live in a symbiosis: when used right they will amplifie eachother and the story/emotion. At least they should, if you ask me :P

For our films, we use the music to compliment the story as opposed to drive the story. But we don't think about the music until we start placing it down after the edit is done. Since we use royalty free music, we'll go through different songs and if it makes us feel a certain way with that music then we'll use it.

If I had the budget I would create the tracks before editing.