The 3CCD Camcorder Dilemma

I'm toooootally stuck, I'm on the market for a new 3CCD MiniDV camcorder, but I'm not sure which one to get.

Just like everybody else in the world, I'd love to have the new Canon XL2 or perhaps the new Sony HDR, alas, I have no dough.

What do you guys think about the Pansonic GS400, does it have just as good a picture as the high-end 3CCD cameras, or is the difference only in the options and manual controls.

Any input from you DP or DV Professionals out there would be most helpful.

Thanks!

Jon

Well I'm not a pro :no: but have used the Panny 3CCD GS120 camcorder. :yes:

You can see some footage at http://cootdogproductions.com :D

The only gripe I really have is the low light problem... by problem I mean that anything under 30 lux is bad, grainy, and pretty much unusable.
I just taped a wedding and reception this past weekend. Everything was fine until they dimmed the lights at the reception... the footage is unusable... I'll be flying back to IL on Thursday and should be putting the footage in the editing station next week. I may be able to do something with the footage, but from first look, it's bad.

If you watch the short "Lightning" you'll see lighting issues.

The GS400 is a great camera for the price I am told. Haven't used it myself. It DOES have full resolution 16:9 and (I believe) a pseudo progressive scan. It certainly won't be as good as the XL2. This is really a high end consumer camera while the XL2 was designed with pros in mind. It really is true - you get what you pay for.

That's too bad the footage was ruined CootDog. The GS120 is a great little camera but it's 1/6" chips really do cause low light problems. Great cam though.

It should also be noted that the DVX has a propensity for being noisy with all of it's cinema settings on. The XL2 shocked me with its absolutely pristine footage in low light. No grain whatsoever unless you turn up the gain. Really amazing.