• Wondering which camera, gear, computer, or software to buy? Ask in our Gear Guide.

sound workflow

Can someone describe to me their sound workflow?

I'm a newbie location sound guy wanting to work in post sound editing and do not have a clear understanding of the workflow from editor to sound editor and back again.

Recently, I found that the editor had made a cut and I required the sound of a previous scene for a continuity transition.

So, is there a way to perform non-distructive editing with both sound and video, on two different machines, and then be able to render a final output containing both editor's work?

I have editors who work with both FCP and Avid, and I work with Sonar Producer (but have no problem working with a different tool is that would make things easier).

Is this typically done collaberatively in the same room?

99.99% of the time sound and picture are edited and processed by different teams at different locations. Most sound editing is done in Pro Tools, although other DAWs are used at the low/no budget indie level.

At the indie level the sound editor(s) is usually given the final locked picture. The reason for this is to avoid the cost of conforming the sound edit to the new picture edit. There are a number of "auto conform" softwares, but they are wildly variable in their accuracy and most indie editors do not keep proper EDLs, in which case the conform must be done manually.