• Wondering which camera, gear, computer, or software to buy? Ask in our Gear Guide.

sound equipment help

Hello! I' m new to film making and film making forums. I think it is an excellent platform for new comers like me. now, to the real problem. i've always been interested in film making and documentaries and recently, i got the chance to step in the field. there is a competetion here for making a 25 minute documentary with your mobile phone ( weird i know) but it is college campus thing! Though they say that the docu can be made with the cellphone and luckily i've a nice phone which can shoot upto 720p and gives out excellent quality. My problem is that the sound quality is no good. And the rules don't say anything about using external equipments ( i checked by asking too!) i've to take some interviews and some outdoor shots. So, my question is how do i solve the audio problem? Being a student i'am on a budget.
Any help is highly appreciated. So ACTION!! :lol:
Thank you!

I'm not sure what the exchange rate is or if you are talking aus. $, but the sennheiser G2/G3 has become the workhorse of low budget filmmaking. This unit sells for $600/channel, and add a quality lav (sanken, tram, rode) for approx. $250 and you have a highly reliable, quality wireless. No, it will not have the range of Zaxcom or Lectros, but I can vouch for the stability, durability, and sound quality and I have had no problems, even when laving someone inside a car, and being 30 ft. away.

Never, Ever, Ever Go with a wireless system that's under $1000, especially clip on mics.

@ alcove audio you are right there’s no point in choosing between dog poop and cat poop, though my girlfriend has a cat and in my experience the latter smells horrible :s I checked out that tiny audio piece, it’s good but I think I’m gonna pass.
@ JohnJohnson Thank you that sort of seems perfect for the time being.