• Wondering which camera, gear, computer, or software to buy? Ask in our Gear Guide.

SOUND Advice - Running/fast sequences

Hey there guys

Loving this forum, it seems a great community. Im in the process of producing a short and looking for all the help I can get. Ive spent the last few days reading through some previous topics which have been really helpful. Im sure I will have quite a few questions in the coming weeks.

Although I am primarily a sound and music person (ive been training in a studio environment studying sound design and music for a few years) I have very little experience with on location film sound and any help I get is hugely useful. AlcoveAudios blogs were EXTREMELY helpful so thank you for that.

Problem : There are several sections of our film involving chases on foot. The chases take place through (often narrow) city streets, which obviously will have a particular ambience. We've got ideas for most of the visual side of it, a mixture of static shots, camera car, some hand held stuff and a few select tracking shots using dollys (will create another post for this topic). But for sound, espcially footstep stuff, I am at a bit of a loss.

If I run with them on the moving shots you will hear my footsteps

On the static shots I would be seen

If I do Set Wilds I can't see how I could ever get it sync'd properly (to their footsteps) and I still have the problem of hearing my own footsteps.

If I tried Foley I can't see how I could get it to sound believable (the ambience would be all wrong)

Obviously

Please note this is a lo/no budget production so I do not have access to complex equipment other than the basic recording equipment (boom, shotgun mic, lavs, mixer, flash recorder, cardiod condensers etc). However I am very dedicated and will go to great lengths to get what is needed

If someone could point me int he right direction I would be hugely greatful

Thanks a lot

Last edited: