Some tips - effective video advertising

I'm in the process of creating a video ad for my metal album I released this weekend and I was looking for some input on how I should go about it.

I don't have after effects or anything like that, just a simple video editor with simple effects like "fade in" and some knowledge of image editing. On the other hand I'm really good with sound (I am a composer and music producer after all).

Here's my first try:
http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=G9AYdgnQbLE

The basics are there, the message, music in the background with a catchy intro section (that 80's metal scream and a big dramatic "hit"), then a few clips from other songs. The "Support indie music" as a way to get people to empathise with "the little guy" too.

On the image side of things I pushed the album art to one side to use the space for writing, I think that works well as it doesn't feel cluttered (as compared to writing on TOP of the image).

Please, tell me what I can do to make it more appealing or effective, I'm not a film maker so this is very far outside my area of expertise.

Last edited:
Is there a time limit you'd like to keep under? Say the 60 second mark?

Looks like 7+1 bonus tracks on the album: http://metalrenardmusic.bandcamp.com/album/only-shadows-touch
I can discern what sounds like four of them on the current commercial.
Correct?

Is there a number of sample cuts or time limit per each you'd like to or must adhere to?

This could use some re-org for clarity:
released 13 April 2013
Sam S aka MetalRenard - Music composition and performance (all
tracks). Album editing, mixing and mastering, project organisation.
Lyrics and vocals "Vagrant Soul", "Chaos Confined". Lyrics
"Assassination of the Indiscriminate Mind", "To The Armory".
Walid Feghali - Lyrics and vocal performance "To The Armory".
Chris Scheer aka Torn - Lyrics and vocals "Burden of Dreams", "Last
Day Alive", vocals "Assassination of the Indiscriminate Mind", lyrics
"Chaos Confined".