Some Help?

I'm a freshman in high-school and I'm looking to make my first short film. I've made a few really short films with friends, and by really short I mean 2-3 minutes. Now I'm looking to make something a little longer.

My biggest problem at the moment is the lack of a script. I want to do a horror film with a small cast. I've been thinking about writing the script myself, but I don't really think of myself as much of a writer.
EDIT: http://www.indietalk.com/showthread.php?t=20799 Here are a few of my ideas, tell me what you think.

Another issue that might cause some trouble is I don't have any editing software than Windows Movie Maker and I don't know how much I can do with that.

There are a few minor issues that I can definitely deal with, but I'll feel you in on them anyway.
-My camera also isn't the greatest, its a Sony DCR-SR45, it gets the job done, but its nothing special.
-I'm broke and my parents might be able to provide me with a little cash, but my budget is very small.

I guess I'm just trying to find out what I can do in my situation. Any help or suggestions or welcome.

Last edited:
-My camera also isn't the greatest, its a Sony DCR-SR45, it gets the job done

A camera that ain't the greatest is better than no camera at all.

Btw, you don't need to own a camera to make a film. Ask some of your friends if they have one you can borrow. Ask your friends' parents if they have one you can borrow. Ask your school's a/v department if they have one you can borrow. Make freinds with someone who wants to be a cinematographer - that's always a good bet.

It also sounds like you'll be using Windows Movie Maker for a while. Unless you know someone who wants to be an editor, and they have something better. They can do it! Or maybe your school has computer classes in editing - use their gear.

been thinking about writing the script myself, but I don't really think of myself as much of a writer

There's no reason why you should have to write it yourself.