Shooting on a Panasonic HPX171

Hi everyone,

I'm a first year university student, and VERY new to film making! We've been set an assignment to create a short (2-4 minute) fiction film, essentially to prove that we have in fact taken in what they've been teaching us. We've been given quite a strict brief and a small list of kit to work with, that is, a basic 3 point lighting kit, some radio mics, a boom and a Panasonic HPX171 (inc. tripod obviously!). I'm the one who has been assigned to shoot it and I was looking for some advice.

The 171 shoots a very clear, crisp image, but because of its small sensor, struggles to achieve a shallow DoF - a look which I would quite like to go for with this film. Does anyone have any advice on how I can create this with this sort of camera? I've toyed with the idea of the 35mm adapter, but I'm not sure the department has them/if we'd be allowed to use them, so I'm working on the basis that we probably won't have one.

I'm just looking for the film achieve that filmic look.. A lot of forums I have read have said that is often created by lighting - can anyone comment on this? Do they just mean 'good' lighting (depending on what the scene requires) or are there particular colour temperatures that might give it a more 'filmic' look. I know that a lot of this can be manipulated in post, but I'd rather get the raw footage looking as good as possible and just tweak in post.

Many thanks for any help.

Hi, jellygraph!

What seperates the so called "video look" from a more filmic look is indeed the lighting of the shot. A shallow DOF will help you, but to be honest the shallow DOF effect is just a cheap trick to make your film seem more expensive and professional. I'm in no way bashing vimeo but take a look at many of the videos there and you'll notice they are all about shooting DSLR cameras at f/1.2 to get as much DOF as possible, just because then they wont have to think about compositing all the other elements in the shot.