Screenwriting Competitions

Hey Everybody,

It's me again! I have a question for you, how many of you have either yourself, or known someone who's entered a screenwriting competition? How about gone to a screenwriting conference? I am VERY interested in going to one of the most exciting screenwriting conferences in 2008 I just want to know which one has had the most knowledge. I have just checked the prices for some of them and they ain't cheap! With that being said, for right now, I have to make the most of the least that I have (money) :lol:!

Throw some ideas out there to me let me know something because I am new to the movie biz and I need a "heads up" sort of deal.

Thanks in advance,

Triple Threat

While I don't...

Hey Everybody,

It's me again! I have a question for you, how many of you have either yourself, or known someone who's entered a screenwriting competition? How about gone to a screenwriting conference? I am VERY interested in going to one of the most exciting screenwriting conferences in 2008 I just want to know which one has had the most knowledge. I have just checked the prices for some of them and they ain't cheap! With that being said, for right now, I have to make the most of the least that I have (money) :lol:!

Throw some ideas out there to me let me know something because I am new to the movie biz and I need a "heads up" sort of deal.

Thanks in advance,

Triple Threat

believe in screenwriting competitions per se... There are a few that might be worth entering. Unfortunately, the majority are not.

Why?

Because your screenplay is often NOT even judged by anyone in the industry. This is especially true in smaller and more regional competitions... So, even if you win, what do you win? Some money and or some software if you're lucky. Most winning screenplays of screenwriting competitions NEVER even get sold or made into a movie.

Why?