Schedule and Budget Breakdown

My partner and I are looking to do a schedule and budget for our locked script before we write a business plan and approach 2 investors we know and start our kickstarter campaign.

I have never done a schedule or budget before. I'm up for hunkering down and learning. Would it be more cost effective and prudent to hire an experienced line producer to do a schedule and budget than to pay the $800 for the Movie Magic Scheduling and Budgeting programs and DIY? Is it quite a steep learning curve?

Also, are schedule and budget constantly fluxuating during pre-production so DYI might really make some sense for the low budget indie?

Thanks!

Quick answer to your question: Hire a professional. It is quite an uphill learning curve and getting it wrong will cost you time and money. Your investor deserves concrete answers, not guesswork. Jack Binder, Producer http://filmbudget.com Low budget to high movie budget productions. Film tax credits, incentives, consulting and advisor.

You can do it yourself. However, if you've never done it before, there's quite a lot that you may or may not understand, and it is quite a steep learning curve just to do it all manually - Movie Magic is an even steeper learning curve.

If you have the money to hire a professional, I probably would. You can do it yourself, but there's a lot to budgetting and scheduling and you need to know you're doing it right - even just the difference between scheduling 6 pages and scheduling 5 pages. ADs tend to know (especially if given a shot list) how long a setup may take, so whilst you may be ambitious and just guess that you might get 6 pages shot in one 12-hour day, an AD will look at it and say well you've got a two dolly setups, a location move and an entire night scene to light, let's schedule 4 pages so that we don't end up running behind.