news Roger Ross Williams Was the First Black Director to Win an Oscar, but the Industry Still Held Him Back

Ten years ago, Roger Ross Williams became the first African American director to win an Oscar, for his short documentary “Music by Prudence.” He thought that would mark a turning point in his career. “I did naively think that all the doors would be open for me — that this was my calling card for the big time,” Williams said in a phone interview last week. “Nothing happened. No one called.”

Instead, Williams said, he found it even harder to get his first feature made. He finished the Sundance-competing documentary “God Loves Uganda” in 2013 after years of fundraising challenges. “If I was a white filmmaker who won an Academy Award for my short film — and I know some — opportunities would have come to me,” he said. “I feel like it took me a really long time to prove myself to the industry.”

In recent years, Williams has become one of the most prominent American documentarians working today. He scored another Oscar nomination for “Life Animated” in 2013, sits on the board of governors as chair of the Academy’s documentary branch, and runs the non-fiction production company One Story Up, which has over a dozen projects in development now. In recent weeks, as the George Floyd protests cast a wider spotlight on racism across society, Williams has felt a renewed pressure to increase his support for black filmmakers.

“I’ve realized I need to take it to another level,” he said. “I need to build a production company that actually is providing content and giving opportunities to black filmmakers and those from underrepresented communities. I need to do it on a bigger scale, to compete with the biggest guys in town.”