• Wondering which camera, gear, computer, or software to buy? Ask in our Gear Guide.

Question about dialogue editing.

Should I put each actors voice on the same tracks or should I have different tracks for each? If an actor makes a noise like a laugh or cough, while the other is talking it can then be heard of course. Or I can put just the coughs and other noises on a separate track.

And when applying the room tone, do I have to put it on the same track as the dialogue, in between all the breaks, or can I just put it all on a separate track only, and that works as well? Thanks.

I'm not an audio expert by any means but on all the projects I work on it helps me a great deal when I give everything its own track just from an organizational and mixing standpoint.

Yeah I put all the dialogue one one track, but then just realized maybe I shouldn't have, when one actor is suppose to interrupt another. If I put the room tone on a separate track though, I will have two room tones. That track and all the room tone that comes in the dialogue tracks as well. Is that okay? Oh I also forgot. When it comes to doing an actor's voice going from the left to right channels, as he or she walks by, should I put the track on both channels and just make it louder and louder, on one channel as she walks by, and quieter, on the other channel?

Last edited:
That's just how I roll. I also own 32 toothbrushes, because I prefer to use a different toothbrush for each tooth in my mouth. And I can use up to 40 forks when eating dinner, because I prefer a separate fork for each bite.

Now, some people might say that this question you've asked is one that you really could have just figured out on your own, and that the amount of time spent creating this thread is more time than you would've spent figuring out that you should use as many audio tracks as you need, and no more.