• Wondering which camera, gear, computer, or software to buy? Ask in our Gear Guide.

problems with exposition and re-writing!!!

Hello everyone!

Hope your all good, I'm new to all this but I'm loving it cause they are such good quesions/Advice around.

I'm a final year student in university, doing my major big project as a director.
I'm re-writing a script at the moment which I'm converting onto a film. Just in the process of pre-production. The script is written, but my tutors still say to keep on re-writing. The problem is that now I feel that the little changes I do rather than improve the script they are making it worse. But it worries me, as I haven't solved a problem I have with "exposition." I don't want to rely on dialogue to explain the story, and I thought of a narrator, but perhaps this is not the best idea...I have the story, i know it. It's just I have having to make things sooo literal, but I don't want the audience to be like "errrr...what the hell is going on?"

Any advice regarding the matter would be truly helpful!!!

Thanks!

Alejandra xox :)

Hello everyone!

Hope your all good, I'm new to all this but I'm loving it cause they are such good quesions/Advice around.

I'm a final year student in university, doing my major big project as a director.
I'm re-writing a script at the moment which I'm converting onto a film. Just in the process of pre-production. The script is written, but my tutors still say to keep on re-writing. The problem is that now I feel that the little changes I do rather than improve the script they are making it worse. But it worries me, as I haven't solved a problem I have with "exposition." I don't want to rely on dialogue to explain the story, and I thought of a narrator, but perhaps this is not the best idea...I have the story, i know it. It's just I have having to make things sooo literal, but I don't want the audience to be like "errrr...what the hell is going on?"