Panasonic PV-GS90 and Microphones

I recently bought this camera from a local Best Buy. It was in my price range, and the video quality was about what I was looking for. The sound quality sucks on it, but I figured that could be fixed with a good quality microphone. My pet peeve is bad sound, so looking at the camera and through the user's manual, it doesn't look like there is a mic input on the camera. Did I just get screwed over by the Sales Rep or is there some magical adapter I can plug in somewhere that will work with it?

In that vein, I'm looking for a good microphone to use. I've heard that shotgun mics are the way to go, but I'm really new to making my own films. My budget is fairly low, but I'm willing to skip a few meals to save up some money. Any suggestions? Thanks!

In that price range.. it's hard to say. The Canon ZR930, which Best Buy also carries has a mic input, though like any small camera that only has the tiny headphone jack sized mic input you'd want to use a beachtek or similar adapter with a nice XLR mic. Given the cost involved in that (which is really the best way to get decent audio) it seems a shame to tether to a camera of this calibre... you might be better off saving your money for a bit until you can afford something a bit better. But that's just my opinion.

Keep in mind it's best to record the audio seperate from the video.

You want a shotgun microphone (with a wind filter if you're shooting outside) that runs down a boom pole (Long pole that holds the microphone) and into a mixer/recorder.

My friend bought a boom pole, mic and 25 foot XLR cable for $200... SoundProfessionals.com is a great site for audio equipment.

You a can also buy a mixer and sound recorder pretty cheap, (Mixer: $140-180, Recorder: $100-200).

Or you can rent a mixer/recorder/boom mic/pole/cables from a place like Coffey Sound (Burbank) or Location Sound (Burbank), you can rent the entire package for like $75 or so.