• Wondering which camera, gear, computer, or software to buy? Ask in our Gear Guide.

Overcoming Idea Mental Block

Hi everyone ,

I'm new to screenwriting . Whatever i know about screenwriting is from the Syd field's screenwriting workshop dvd .

I decided to write a short film screenplay but I'm having trouble generating ideas .I have whole day to write but I'm not even able to think about the beginning or the end .I really hate myself as i always thought i had good imagination.

How to overcome this mental block ?

Thank you​

Hi everyone ,

I'm new to screenwriting . Whatever i know about screenwriting is from the Syd field's screenwriting workshop dvd .

I decided to write a short film screenplay but I'm having trouble generating ideas .I have whole day to write but I'm not even able to think about the beginning or the end .I really hate myself as i always thought i had good imagination.

Thank you​

For my first couple of screenplays I did adaptations. That allows you to start with a basic outline of the story. It allows you to concentrate on formatting, writing good dialogue, translating the written medium to a visual one, etc... If you pick a classic (I did H P Lovecraft) it's likely public domain (just confirm that).

Hi everyone ,

Thank you​

I don't think you're ready to write if you don't really have an idea...

So don't force it.

Go do something to clear your synapses... I'm serious. Something that's repetitive but that you enjoy. Beforehand, have some kind of an idea of WHAT KIND OF STORY you're interested in doing... But again, don't force it. Just tell you subconscious to work on an idea.

Once you get the idea, then do some research before you write... Consider your structure. Work out the throughline to the end.

Then write.

filmy

I think you just need to relax. It sounds like you are being too hard on yourself and are just making things too complicated.