• Wondering which camera, gear, computer, or software to buy? Ask in our Gear Guide.

Other Writing

So, I was thinking about my experience in the stuff I've written besides screenplays. I've been writing professionally for twelve years with material like short stories, poetry, novels, reviews for music, films and books. I'm actually pretty new to screenwriting (I wrote my first film script in January 2007).

Anyway, it's kind of a dumb question, but I guess I was wondering if anyone else started out writing something else before making the jump into screenplays. If so, was it difficult, easier to express your idea than with a short story or novel, stuff like that.

I started writing short stories and novels (mostly fan fiction) first before I started on screenplays. I only started writing screenplays a year and a half ago.

But as to what's easier, it depends on your preference of writing. Writing novels/ short stories, I found it easier to get into the characters heads, but harder to write complicated action sequences seeing as I tend to write in 3rd person past tense. With screenplays, it's the opposite for me. I don't get much into the characters heads, but I found it much easier to churn out the action stuff.

It depends on what I'm writing, I guess. I've been able to more effectively carry out some of my stories by translating them from their original short story format and into script. I find novels to have more detail than their film counterparts. Compare the Harry Potter or Lord of the Rings books to their movies. While both are good, the novels tend to have much more detail because they aren't reliant on the length issues that screenplays have.

Interesting...