Online Film Promotion Advice

Hey guys! Some of you might have seen that i've done a few shorts that are up in the Screening>Narrative (/shamelessplug) forum, which are all hosted on my Youtube and while that has helped their exposure, i'm finding it difficult to discover places where it's going to be seen. I'm not very experienced in that area and have only really recently been pushing my films on the internet.

Can any of you guys help me out? Any advice would be useful! Thanks!

Is your movie for filmmakers or the public?

If it's more for the public, try promoting it via sites like MILKANDCOOKIES.COM or TWITTER or FACEBOOK and MYSPACE, etc. Start there and try to find other sites that promote videos.

It's for both of them - i'm putting it out there for people to see but would also like to put it around a place that would get it seen by many filmmakers and offer some useful feedback. It's not for profit, only for advice.

Can anyone recommend any others?
Thanks a lot for the link to milkandcookies sonnyboo, i'll take a look!

The key is to build a website, and have an opt in to build an email list. Also build a link wheel with many different landing pages talking about your films with opt ins. No filmmaker is doing this because most folks don't understand Internet marketing. Build a list of folks that become fans. And you really don;t need any other median than social media like Facebook. Create a like page and just post as much info about your film. Take advantage of the internet.

Thanks a lot for the advice LFO! I'm interested in what you're saying but I need some further explanation on the idea of having opt-ins for email lists and link wheels. How do I go about constructing these, and is there an effective way of getting a lot of exposure on them? I'm going to put my films out on Milk and Cookies, which looks like it is somewhat similar to Youtube in that it's hit-and-miss in terms of popularity.