No Experience, but want to gain some

Hi, I'm in Tucson, Arizona, and I have no experience in film, but I would like to gain some. Unfortunetly, I'm always too afraid to try and find where I can help out to get experience...does anyone even want someone with no experience at all? What's the best way for a newbie in the business to get a job/volunteer to get expeirence. There's no particular job I want, I just want to get some experience.

...well, if you go the tv route (I know you said film) you can go to public access, that's what its called, to learn how to run a camera or do audio or a lot of other things. You will probably find that there are alot of frustrated filmmakers in tv (like me) and I learned initial camera there. And Tucson isn't so small, maybe you can find an internship at a production company.... It's a start...

--spinner

Doing public access is a great suggestion. Also, film is a close cousin of theatre, so you could also get started by volunteering at one of the local venues.. If you have other skills such as web site design, you could offer to help a production company with that, and then soak up other knowledge.

Last edited:
Yeah, I'm a Theatre Education major at the University of Arizona, so I'm already heavily into theatre...I'd like to get into some film stuff, and I'm going to be taking some courses from my community college because my university only opens up the film classes to the Media Arts majors, due to lack of funding.

However, even though I get some background knowledge in the classes, I would like to couple that with some practical "in-the-field" knowledge. I was actually thinking of taking some classes at the public access station downtown. They offer some video production classes.

...that's what you want to do. Also, you have your theater courses and classmates who, I would be willing to bet, would LOVE to do some artsy indie film...you are in a very good position...

--spinner