Newbie camera questions

Hi, I'm very new to filming and film making but I am very interested to learn and I have so many ideas. My main questions at the moment are about buying my first camera. I know this has probably been asked so many times, so sorry about that.

At the moment I'm looking for a decent camcorder that won't set me back too much (I'm thinking 500-1000 dollars, all though I would be happy to spend more if required). I was hoping somebody could point me to a good range of cameras, and maybe even some information on which model they think is best. Would a camera falling in this price range be able to produce good quality images, like those seen in indie films that make it to the big screen (I'm not saying I will get that far I'm just curious). Any information would be so helpful.

Also, I've heard that DSLR cameras are the best, although more expensive and probably not reccommended for a new coming. Is this true?

And my last question is about sound gear. I've seen the importance of good sound recording stressed many times on this forum, so I am curious about it. I was talking to a university friend who is doing a film and media related course (I am not unfortunately), and he said that so invest in a shotgun mic? Sorry I know sweet f**k all about sound equipment. Any information would also be very helpful about sound stuff, including prices and the like. Do the microphones connect to the camera when filming? Sorry I'm a noob :grumpy:

Thanks so much for reading, this forum is a great resource.

Yeh mate your right this has been asked hundreds of times. Do a little search and gather some questions up and I'm sure you'll get a good response. I would answer you questions but I can't recommend anything that cheap. Dslrs are good though and easy enough to learn on. Search for the t2i and see what you come up with.

Owen

Thanks for your replies. I'll try to be a bit more specific. Here are some cameras I've looked at so far:

Panasonic HDC-TM700