Need Sound equipment.

What are some good websites to visit that carry sound gear, so far I like sweetwater.com. I'm trying to get the right mic for a project I'm working on. I'm using a typical home user camcorder, gonna push it to its limit being its my first project dealing with film. I don't know the specs on the cam but until I do, what would be some good suggestions on mics for these cameras? or would it be best to buy a sound recorder to add a mic too and sync up the sound when editing the footage?. This is a family event (wedding) in which I was given the roll to film. Thanks guys cant wait to hear the suggests and Ideas.

You might a lot of questions like "What/where are you filming", "What type of Camera are you using" ect. The Answer can vary, and what your budget is.

I use a Canon 900 for my shooting, and I got a Shure Microphone for 60 dollars that works wonderfully-but it works with the type of stuff I do. I don't shoot weddings though (though no has asked either....;))

A lot of advice to be had here, though, so you've come to the right place :)

Last edited:
BHPhoto is great resource for film/video related gear. I would recommend the Rode VideoMic Pro for your purposes.

http://www.bhphotovideo.com/c/product/744768-REG/Rode_VIDEOMIC_PRO_VideoMic_Pro_Compact_Shotgun.html

BTW, I use Sweetwater also, but my focus is audio post so I am more studio oriented. Sweetwater is great for music and audio post equipment (I still do a fair amount of work with musicians), but B&H is more focused on and has a much larger selection of video/film related gear, especially production sound. When you get into really high end production sound gear a company like Trew Audio is another solid vendor.

BHPhoto is great resource for film/video related gear. I would recommend the Rode VideoMic Pro for your purposes.

http://www.bhphotovideo.com/c/product/744768-REG/Rode_VIDEOMIC_PRO_VideoMic_Pro_Compact_Shotgun.html