• Wondering which camera, gear, computer, or software to buy? Ask in our Gear Guide.

Need Advice on my first short film script!

Hi there guys,

I'm new to indietalk and so far am liking how it is. Anyways, I'm currently in the process of writing my first short film called "Cough Syrup" which will hopefully be my directorial debut. Essentially, I need help writing some of the scenes. Let's get started

1. How do you make add a tribute to another film/TV reference that isn't that obvious?
-Okay, essentially what I want to do is made a reference to the amazing show that was "Breaking Bad." It's liking copying the scene where Walt gets diagnosed with lung cancer and he is focusing on a mustard stain on the doctor's jacket. I essentially took that scene and adjusted it to my style, but I don't want people to see it as that I "stole" from Breaking Bad, but I'm actually adding a tribute to them in my own film. How do I make it look like a tribute other than stealing their ideas? Also, should I do this or not?

2. How do you show the beginning of a love affair?
-So, in the story, the father is in the military and the mother is caring for her only son. I want to show that the mother is getting tired of the father being away. I want to show that the mother at this point is fine with cheating on her husband, for he would never find out. I want to show that this love affair between the mother and her boss is just beginning, and make it look okay to the audience. I want it to look at little betrayal from the mother, but not so you the audience hate the mother. How do I do this? I have it written in a way it works, but it doesn't come across how I like it.

3. How do you show a cell phone conversation with only hearing one side of the conversation?