Muzaks Are Fun! - A Question in Two Parts

So...it's come to this...

Nah, but really. I'm a musician. I assume some of you are too. So these questions, ladies and gents..are for you.

1. Do you play, and if so what?

2. Does what you play influence the soundtrack for the stuff you work on? This goes for actual audio/soundtrack stuff as well as what you listen to when editing or writing.

For me... I play guitar and piano, mostly singer/songwriter stuff (and no, I'm not going to shamelessly plug my SoundCloud at this point). I like to play with sounds of things when they come together. Editing a piano track to back guitar/vox, etc.

When I write (all I do at this point), I go with something with a steady guitar or bassline. Keeps me focused. Although I've been known to rach out to Rachmaninov and chill to Chopin. And puns. I like puns.

There are, in fact, lots of music-type folks around! Welcome to the bunch!

1) What I can get my hands on. In my current band, I'm handling electronics/synths, guitar (6 and 12 string) and lap dulcimer. I've also performed live with bass, mandolin, fiddle, harp and miscellaneous weird electronics. For soundtracks, I've also played and recorded hammered dulcimer, toy accordeon, banjo, stylophone and, of course, various orchestral arrangements.

2) Well, what I work on is music, so yes, you could say that!

And, yes, you should shamelessly plug your soundcloud! That's what social networking is all about! To that end, you can hear my band at https://soundcloud.com/ghost-estate and some miscellaneous odds and ends at https://soundcloud.com/joshloughrey (some of the soundtrack work, but really I use that page more to play old stuff for friends. I really ought to do something more productive with it, but most of my score work is over on http://www.reverbnation.com/joshloughrey anyway) Put up your link and I'll follow! This goes for anyone else posting too!