• Wondering which camera, gear, computer, or software to buy? Ask in our Gear Guide.

LUTS for desert southwest

I live in Utah and frequent the desert area a lot and am looking for recommendations for LUTS that are most appropriate for desert conditions and work within Premiere Pro CC. I should mention that I'm new to video but have been a still photographer for a long time. As a photog I've used Photoshop and Lightroom as well as a few other editing programs but Premiere Pro is new to me and I'm just beginning the learning curve. Fortunately as a PS user I'm somewhat familiar with the Adobe way.

My current camera kit includes the following: Nikon D800E, Nikon D7200, Panasonic GH2, Zenmuse X5 (DJI Inspire 1 drone). In addition to the bodies I have a pretty decent selection of good glass ranging from quite wide to very telephoto. I am planning to upgrade my GH2 but not until the GH5 and along with the X5 expect to do a fair amount of 4K video.

So, since my environment is mostly the high southwest desert, but certainly not limited to the high desert, the LUTS that do well with such conditions and are usable within APP would be desirable. I should also mention that at present I only plan to use Premiere Pro and not SpeedGrade or AfterEffects, but that I may go the full CC suite at some point. So any recommendations should be APP specific.

Lastly, although making a full on film is in the back of my mind my short term ambitions are far more limited and mostly aimed at making shorts for Youtube and Vimeo. As I gain experience I may expand my goals, but I figure to take this a step at a time.

Many thanks,

Brian

I work exclusively in the southwest deserts of Nevada.