• Wondering which camera, gear, computer, or software to buy? Ask in our Gear Guide.

critique Infinitus Short SciFi Script Feedback

I'm really looking to revitalize the dialogue in this script. I am not good at dialogue (I don't socialize much). Knowing that is my weak point, could anyone give this script a read and help me improve the dialogues a little?

If you have any other form of feedback that you think could help (this will be filming in October/November), please share.

👍 Interesting story! Not sure that I'm particularly well-qualified in "dialogue" but here are some observations (in chronological order) specific to the words in the dialogue:

(1) page 4, John's VO (part 1) - "you will have noticed that I'm gone" : we don't know what kind of a person John is, but it seems weird that he'd think that his wife had only "noticed" that he was not there without doing anything about it. This clashes with her waking up and immediately knowing that he'd gone outside.
(2) page 4, John's VO (part 2) - use of the word "Hey" : sounds too flippant in a letter that would have been written with a heavy heart ; would be more natural when writing to start with "Do you remember ..."
(3) page 5, Rachel calling on the radio - "Chris!? Chris, this is Rachel. Come in." : anyone used to communicating by radio would stick with the protocol "Gamma bunker, this is Delta 26, come in." until they got a response. There's nothing in the story to suggest that Chris is the only other living person within range, so Rachel wouldn't know who might respond; but if he is the only other person, why would she start with the formal protocol? Also