How to start

Hey all,

Fairly new on here basically live in the screening room to see all the new stuff coming out but I have a question that I need answered.
I have only just started to get into film making at a higher level then lets say, A case of beer, $400 handy came and, Microsoft Movie Maker.

I have made a few little short clips (Effects tests basically) and I have made a short clip for a series I want to make. (http://www.youtube.com/user/intergageqxc)

What I need answered is, how do you start a short clip that is meant to have some kind of story line. I'm a full time IT tech and film making is only a hobby. I have, however, read books, did research, watch what other people are doing and taking notes. (Things like the 180' rule and stuff)

I can't seem to figure out where to start when making a short film?
At the moment I plan out as I go and edit right after we finish filming so it's all still in my head.

Need some help, tips and pointers.

TL: DR - I have no idea how to start a short film that will take more then a day to film, edit and complete. How do I start?

Last edited:
Well first start of with a character that you imagine. give that character a few important traits. Then, make something happen to that person. An event that would change an important part of the character's life. Maybe add in more characters and events, but at the end of the thing, something significant has happened, and then been resolved, leaving the viewer with some kind of a message or in deep thought.

This is very vague and probably not very useful, but it helps me think of plots.

Hi, Intergage

First, start with a story.
"Great, Ray where do I get one-a those?"

The news.
http://www.indietalk.com/showthread.php?p=186753#post186753

Then:
http://www.indietalk.com/showthread.php?p=186601#post186601
http://www.indietalk.com/showthread.php?p=179730#post179730
http://www.indietalk.com/showthread.php?p=182344#post182344

Looks like you got the rest okay, to begin with.