• Wondering which camera, gear, computer, or software to buy? Ask in our Gear Guide.

How much contrast is too much?

I am practicing with color grading to get a certain look. I like the ideas of high contrasts used in some movies like Saving Private Ryan. I tried pushing the contrast a little in different shots. I can shoot on no contrast and do it in post as well, but I did it in camera this time to an idea of where to be, since I am still learning 'curves' in post and what not.

How much contrast gets to the point where it's too much in these shots do you think? Pardon the bad lighting, as I did this under natural light:

https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=qT_cqfONRac&feature=youtu.be

It's also hard to judge cause different contrast looks much different under different lighting, but you want to pick one setting for the whole movie, so the picture matches from shot to shot of course. Thanks!

Last edited:
.....But to me, all the colors seem to look the same in a scene, as long as I have the settings locked. ...........

.................Wouldn't it be more logical to grade each shot the same so they match to the viewer? Like for example, you don't want to have a Matrix green look on Actor A, then have a Godfather sepia look when you cut to the shot of Actor B of course.

It's also hard to judge cause different contrast looks much different under different lighting, but you want to pick one setting for the whole movie, so the picture matches from shot to shot of course. Thanks!

Stop mixing up shot, scene and movie.
That changes the context all the time...

Different looks for different shots in 1 scene = RIDICULOUS or arty-farty
Different looks for different scenes = NOT STRANGE
Applying the same look settings to the whole movie DOES NOT EQUAL getting the same look in the whole movie.
Applying different grading settings to different shots in 1 scene CAN LEAD to the same look.
Applying the same grading settings to different shots in 1 scene CAN LEAD to the same look.