hi, new user here from australia

hello.. i have been racking my brains on what camera to buy (as i suppose most people do when they first begin) i want to specifically make films that have circa late 70s-mid80s feel filmwise, and i dont know what camera and type of film to invest in. should i get a 8mm or 16mm camera? and SLR? i dont really know, a little advice or abuse on the matter would'nt go astray :) thnx. j

Not sure about your level experience, so my apologies if you are already beyond this...

My understanding is that film is expensive to purchase and process. Before spending that much money on a learning process, I would suggest you think about starting with a video camera. Learn as much as you can (through practice) about lighting, camera angles, movement--all while practicing on cheap, re-useable DV tapes. Then upgrade to a film camera when you feel ready. I have no experience with film cameras, but I know there are other members who do. Hopefully they will add their experiences for you.

thanks for the reply, i have used DV before, but i wasn't happy with the results, i guess you could relate it to mixing down music digitally, or on a reel2reel .. the analog just gives sincerely different results, i heard that 8mm films can be done on literally nothing, its just a matter of buying enough film, but do they give good output quality? does anyone know of any films that were shot in 8mm that went to production?

Super-8 is :cool:

Many of the 35mm stocks are now available for S8, letting you get an excellent picture. (Assuming you have a camera with a rock-steady gate... which many S8's don't have, giving it that wobbly look).

On the flipside, those newer stocks don't really look "older". The K40 (Kodachrome) stock for S8 has been discontinued... that was one which sure had a distinctive period look to it. :tear:

i heard that 8mm films can be done on literally nothing, its just a matter of buying enough film