HD or DV?

Hello everyone,

At the moment I'm in the stage of pre-production for my next film. Just to make things clear, I'm a student, and this is my major ultimate project before I graduate. Although my real wish would have been to use film, our budget is simply too limited. So now I've been able to get hold of a panasonic HVX200 DVCPRO HD/SD. To make it look more like film we are going to use a 35mm lens adaptor. It looks great. BUT I'm debating whether we should actually shoot in HD. The thing is, at first I didn't want to, because I was told that even if you shoot and edit in HD, once you put it onto a DVD disc, the quality becomes the same as a normal standard movie shoot in DV. But now aparently, I've discovered that this is not the case with my camera, because the camera will compress it more profesionally, and even if you put it into a DVD disc, you will STILL see a difference in quality and it will look great. I was told that since I have the camera that can encourage the look, I may aswell take advantage of its full potential.

I'm a little worried, not sure what to do now. My story is very visual, and it needs to look good!But another problem is that the entire shoot resides in a forest (ext), so this may cause complications. So I'm not sure whether I should stick with DV or go for HD?

Suggestions/Feedback very welcome.

Alejandra xox :)

Hi

definitely shoot and edit in HD if you can. The result will look a lot better, as you have more information before you start to compress and you will end up with better quality.

cheers

Hello everyone,