• Wondering which camera, gear, computer, or software to buy? Ask in our Gear Guide.

Format of script - printing

Hi
I have a small problem with how my script is printed.

I read about the standard of how the script should look like, I mean the margins, font etc. I also read that the script, especially in case of a newbie (like me) should not be longer than 110, max 115 pages. I am a newbie, so I decided to write the script in Celtx, since it is free. I finished the script and wanted to print it. I was much surprised to see that the printout looks different than what I see in the program.

I started experimenting with it, I searched some other programs. In one forum I read that there is a program that perfectly matches the standard in how it formats the script. It is called WriterDuet.

I made an experiment and copied first 4 pages of my script and pasted them to WriterDuet. I printed them. I noticed that these two printouts look different (however WriterDuet printed the script just like it looked in the program).

First of all WriterDuet made the printout 5 pages long. In Celtx there were 4 pages (the text ended near the bottom of the fourth page). In WriterDuet the printout took also 9 lines of the fifth page.

I started wondering about the reason of the difference. I noticed 2 things:

1. Margins are different in both programs
2. WriterDuet makes bigger gap between scenes than Celtx

I thought that there should be a standard which says what margins should EXACTLY be. I am surprised that it is not.
Celtx has these margins: Top: 2.8cm, Left: 3.8cm, Bottom: 3.6cm, Right: 2.8cm
WriterDuet has these: Top: 4.0cm, Left: 3.7cm, Bottom: 4.6cm, Right: 2.6cm

The difference is significant. Adding the fact that there is a bigger gap between scenes, it makes the printout in WriterDuet longer about 20 lines on just 4-page text than in Celtx.