• READ BEFORE POSTING!
    • If posting a video, please post HERE, unless it is a video as part of an advertisement and then post it in this section.
    • If replying to threads please remember this is the Promotion area and the person posting may not be open to feedback.

watch First try at a short film.

Hi everyone this is my first attempt at directing a short film, I am in my last year of a scriptwriting degree and had the option of making a short film. Our group consisted of scriptwriters so we had no idea on how to make a film, we selected horror as we are all writers, therefore strange. It was a massive learning curve and really enjoyable, as a group we have not made a short film before. We had massive problems, in particular the reception scene we filmed a few test shots then we were told by the hotel owner we couldn't film there. We had to edit and dub the test shots into the film and change the script as the short had to be 5 mins long. One of the actors dropped out so I had to stand in as I was the right age 40+.
Well here is the link, all feedback is good!
http://m.youtube.com/watch?v=1JWhvkTky9o&desktop_uri=/watch?v=1JWhvkTky9o
Thanks

Pretty good! The screen looks compressed but that is probably youtube or the outdoor format you chose for this copy. I am guessing the original does not look like that. Also, don't bother with a title sequence, since audiences only seem to care about those if it's a Hollywood movie. That's what I hear often anyway, leave the titles for the end if it's unknowns. But its not written in stone of course :).

It's good, especially for a first and considering you are all screenwriters. Though, the only truly "scary" scene was the shower scene, just because it was tediously long and you knew SOMEthing was going to happen. I am glad you stuck with making the point apprehension, instead of just shocking people with a loud noise and a scary image in their face.

Hello new dude :cool: