• READ BEFORE POSTING!
    • If posting a video, please post HERE, unless it is a video as part of an advertisement and then post it in this section.
    • If replying to threads please remember this is the Promotion area and the person posting may not be open to feedback.

watch First 1-minute short film "Isolation"

Unfortunately I could not discern the dialogue in the end.

Hi and welcome.

Well done on telling a story in 1 minute! Tough to do, but for me you did it.

The overall idea for the short is great. However, what lets it down,t as Indietalk stated, is the dialogue is really hard to make out. I'm no sound engineer, but it might have been good to use lapel mics on your actors there. I would imagine that would cut down on a lot of the noise. Or record the dialogue again. There's not much of it. Lapel mics are about 20 quid.

Some of the audio transitions are a little harsh from shot to shot. Maybe look at those.

Your framing on his face during the flash backs is really nice, however the framing of other shots feel a little flat. For instance, when he's throwing stones into the water, You could have him a lot smaller in the frame. I'd probably put the camera lower to the ground and move back a way. Really frame him as alone for the initial shot. Then, perhaps a slight pan from that position to reveal his friends, then cut to closer in. Just a thought and how I'd approach that. Feel free to ignore me :)

The colour grade feels a little bright for the subject matter. Look at films that deal with depression and be guided by that.

Also, and I see this a lot, but the titles are not good. Really look at titles and credit design. Why is 'Directed by' so much bigger than the name? Again, this is subjective, but really like at movies with great titles. Sometimes just a very unfussy font is all you need.

Hope these comments help.

Again, well done.