Film School Advice?

Hello! I'm new to IndieTalk and I need a bit of advice.

I'm currently a college senior with a major in Theatre with an emphasis in film production. The film emphasis is fairly new at my school and I still feel like I have a lot to learn before I actually go out and try to make it as a film director. So, I'm considering going to film school.

However, several people have told me that film school is a waste of time and that I could learn a lot of techniques simply by reading a few books. Still, I really believe that the only way to really get better as something is by doing it.

So, is film school worth it? What should I look for when I'm choosing film programs?

Any advice is greatly appreciated. :)

Do you have the cash in hand for film school or are you taking out massive loans? I'd suggest learn by doing, as in get on indie film sets. If the only way you can make that happen is by making your own films, then do that. Film degrees don't help you get jobs in film. The main thing film school is good for is getting you hands on time on set, which you can also get elsewhere.