Field Recording Help

Hey everyone. I am looking into buying some audio equipment for short films that my group makes. We dont have much budget so I was thinking preferably cheap XD.

The camera we are using is the Canon T1i (looking to upgrade), which as many of you may know has no mic inputs...this means I need to buy an external recorder. I was thinking the Zoom H1...Should I be using this as my mic on a boom pole? Or should I get a mic that plugs into the Zoom which would then attach to the boom pole?

I am not that good with audio so any help would be highly appreciated!

Thanks!

Last edited:
It's called Production Sound. Field recording is what someone like myself does when recording sound effects and ambiences for audio post production.

Start here in Gear and Equipment, it's been discussed frequently.

http://www.indietalk.com/forumdisplay.php?f=241

Also, give us a fairly firm price range.

I apologize, I am not very familiar with terminology in the audio department.

My budget is between $300-400. From what I saw in other forums, I know you prefer the Tascam products. I've looked into the DR-40 Digital Audio Recorder. From what I've read, it seems you get better sound from plugging an external mic into the the portable recorder, but since I'm on a tight budget is it possible to stick the DR-40 on a boom pole and use that until I have the budget for an XLR shotgun mic or should I increase my budget to get that shotgun now?

Although some people do it, putting the recorder on the end of a boom-pole is a terrible way to record production sound. There TWO microphones, and dialog should be recorded in MONO. If you sum the two audio tracks (pan them both to the center) you will end up with phase cancellation and other audio problems. Also, there is no convenient way to monitor the audio while blocking and shooting when the recorder is on the end of the boom-pole, and monitoring the audio is job number one when recording production sound.