• Wondering which camera, gear, computer, or software to buy? Ask in our Gear Guide.

Expert advice needed: Huge budget for film studio set up

Hi all,

I work as an in house video producer for a consulting company and we are interested in building a studio at our offices. I've just been given the task of building our studio with a budget of $25, 000. Now, I have an idea of what to buy but I want to make sure I'm being smart about it and want to get the best gear for the best price.

We will be doing greenscreen work of course, but I wanted advice on the following:

Greenscreen studio:
  • Types of greenscreens
  • lighting
  • cameras
  • sound including recording devices
  • clamps, accessories, etc

In addition, we will be setting up in another space for live event type of shooting. So, if you have any advice for gear for this type of set up, I would appreciate it! Ideally, we are looking for the 2 spaces to have 2 sets of gear for each purpose. The live event would essentially be mounted and not moveable just so we can have it set up and ready to go with little set up time.

Unfortunately, $25,000 is a relatively small budget for a studio setup. You might want to do a search on this forum regarding audio, camera, etc. You might want to start with telling what equipment you have, the space you have (already set up acoustically, shape ceiling size, electrical setup, etc.). You might want to check with some local cable access station to see their set up. They would have spent at least 10 times what you want to spend, but it will give you an idea of a small studio.

Hi all,

I work as an in house video producer for a consulting company and we are interested in building a studio at our offices. I've just been given the task of building our studio with a budget of $25, 000. Now, I have an idea of what to buy but I want to make sure I'm being smart about it and want to get the best gear for the best price.