news Emmy Predictions: Outstanding Supporting Actor in a Comedy Series: Brett Goldstein Reps For ‘Ted Lasso’


Last Year’s Winner: Brett Goldstein, “Ted Lasso”
Still Eligible: Yes.
Hot Streak: The last person to win Outstanding Supporting Actor in a Comedy in back-to-back years was Jeremy Piven for “Entourage.” After that, there was a period where “Modern Family” stars Ty Burrell and Eric Stonestreet would swap wins. Given how “Ted Lasso” took up half the nominations in this category, with Brett Goldstein being the one to win, there’s a chance the hit Apple TV+ series could follow in the footsteps of “Modern Family,” and have a hot streak for the show rather than for just one cast member. Nick Mohammed and Brendan Hunt certainly had showcase episodes in Season 2.
Notable Ineligible Series: Paul Reiser, “The Kominsky Method” (ended); Sterling K. Brown, “The Marvelous Mrs. Maisel” (Brown did not appear in Season 4.)

This article will be updated throughout the season, along with all our predictions, so make sure to keep checking IndieWire for the latest news from the 2022 Emmys race. The nomination round of voting took place from June 16 to June 27, with the official Emmy nominations announced on Tuesday, July 12. The Creative Arts Emmy Awards will be given out over two consecutive nights on Saturday, September 3 and Sunday, September 4, with an edited presentation on the ceremonies to be broadcast on Saturday, Sept. 10, at 8:00 p.m. ET on FXX. Finally, the 74rd Annual Primetime Emmy Awards will take place on Monday, September 12, and air live on NBC at 8:00 p.m. ET/ 5:00 p.m. PT.

The State of the Race​

If the TV Academy is nominating actors that none of the prognosticators even had on their lists, then it seems pretty clear that the show is the frontrunner to win, and maybe even sweep. Given how the voting body is also prone to repeating themselves, “Ted Lasso” star Brett Goldstein seems destined for back-to-back wins, but his one spoiler could be co-star Toheeb Jimoh, the aforementioned surprise addition that was so closely linked to Emmy winner Hannah Waddingham this season that her awards season luck could have rubbed off on him.

The beloved Apple TV+ comedy has one more Outstanding Supporting Actor in a Comedy Series nominee (down from five last year), but Nick Mohammed as Nathan having to do a heel turn still feels too polarizing to declare as an award-winning performance.

Going down the line to another show that has seen multiple actors be nominated in this category, “Barry” has already seen some shine with Henry Winkler’s Emmy win in 2018, and he and Anthony Carrigan both continue to do brilliant tragicomic work on the HBO series, but it just does not have the same broad appeal as “Ted Lasso.”

Two hit shows that do have that element of everyone being able to enjoy them are late night staple “Saturday Night Live” and freshman hit “Abbott Elementary.” Bowen Yang and Tyler James Williams, the stars of those respective shows, both seem like they could definitely win this Emmy category one day, especially if “Ted Lasso” actually ends after its upcoming third season, but this year is probably too early for that to happen for either of them.

Meanwhile it already happened for “The Marvelous Mrs. Maisel” star Tony Shaloub, who has won one Emmy for Amazon Prime Video’s awards darling, and three more for the USA Network hit “Monk,” so TV Academy voters would not ever feel like they are wrongfully overlooking him this year.

Power Rankings:

  1. Brett Goldstein, “Ted Lasso” (Apple TV+)
  2. Toheeb Jimoh, “Ted Lasso” (Apple TV+)
  3. Henry Winkler, “Barry” (HBO)
  4. Bowen Yang, “Saturday Night Live” (NBC)
  5. Nick Mohammed, “Ted Lasso” (Apple TV+)
  6. Tyler James Williams, “Abbott Elementary” (ABC)
  7. Anthony Carrigan, “Barry” (HBO)
  8. Tony Shaloub, “The Marvelous Mrs. Maisel” (Amazon Prime Video)

Will Win: Brett Goldstein, “Ted Lasso”
Could Win: Toheeb Jimoh, “Ted Lasso”
Should Win: Anthony Carrigan, “Barry”