• Wondering which camera, gear, computer, or software to buy? Ask in our Gear Guide.

Does the editing system matter

Thats the question I impose to you. Does the editing system in which you edit on really matter when it comes to getting a job in the film industry? I'm a Lightworks editor and I don't think they're that many of us out there. I worked with Final Cut Pro 7, Premiere and even got to try Avid once but none of them made as much sense to me as Lightworks. I feel really comfortable with it and it's console. Now do people favor Avid and Final Cut as apposed to Premiere, Vegas, Lightworks, Edius, Media100 and so on? Do they also tell you what you have to use? Like say I get hired to work on a movie doing editing will they tell me I have to cut on Avid or do I get to choose?

A long, long time ago, FCP was the best editing suite available to regular folk. Regular folk who were interested in film editing bought it up. And they stuck with it.

I wouldn't know, but I've heard that the truly top-dollar editing suites all go with Avid.

Premiere is the best. A couple years ago, this comment would've been considered mere opinion. These days, it's kinda common knowledge. Premiere is the tits, there's no arguing that.

Ironically, Premiere is not what I recommend for you. You're keen to get a job in the industry, and the industry has a preferred format that they foolishly cling to. For sake of job-security, you should learn and master Final Cut. Truth be told, it's a solid piece of software.

Personally I vouch for Vegas. If you live in America learn Avid if you're within Hollywood or any big production company. If you live in UK learn Premiere as the BBC now use it. If you're freelance, feel free to use what you wish.

Does the editing system matter Thats the question I impose to you. Does the editing system in which you edit on really matter when it comes to getting a job in the film industry?

Yes and No.