• Wondering which camera, gear, computer, or software to buy? Ask in our Gear Guide.

creating ambience

What would be a good way to create horror ambience? Im still learning about sound and everything, but is ambience the background noise in a shot? If so is it better to shoot the shot and record background and then also mix that with ambience? or is it better to just do no sound and create the background ambience in post? thanks!

Do not confuse ambience with room-tone. Room-tone is the sound of the set when no one is speaking. Even when shooting out-doors it's called room tone. If there is a distinctive ambient sound make copious recordings to blend in with the room-tone. For example, when I worked on "Trailerpark" the trailer park was near a lake that had frogs chirping all night from July through September. Fortunately the production sound mixer recorded a solid 20 minutes worth for me.

Ambient background sound is constructed of multiple layers of sound so it can be controlled. With most sound design there must be visual cues so there is a reference. When it comes to ambient BGs however, you can reverse this; the sounds themselves can create the illusion you want. Grasshoppers, locusts and tweeting birds easily convey an afternoon in late summer. Slow traffic, honking horns, a few voices and maybe a distant siren suggest a city. Whistling wind can suggest cold, but add thunder and rain and it can suggest a hurricane, which only takes place during warm months.