• Wondering which camera, gear, computer, or software to buy? Ask in our Gear Guide.

Creating a good listening environment?

There's been a little talk lately about sound, and I wanted to ask the resident sound guys (or anyone else who can help with this question).

Hopefully next year ill be buying a new house, and will be turning a room into a dedicated studio. I don't necessarily mean studio, like production studio, but studio in the sense that will be my work space for post production.

I'm wanting advice on making it the best listening environment as possible? With regards to setting up the room. Aside from my video post production equipment, I also have protools, and my audio I/O is an mbox pro. I went with the mbox pro for its ability to have a 5.1 monitoring setup. I have yet to buy monitors, as I'm trying to figure out the best setup for a complete novice (that's me). My rep at sweetwater has recommended some focal monitors, but I'm wondering if I should be looking into a 5.1 setup? Or just stick with stero monitoring? And then I will be adding a control surface, something along the lines of the digi8 or artist mix.

Ok back to my original question.

What can I do to my room to create the best listening environment? If I could do what I want, I'd build a separate garage type building, away from my house, and put my studio there. I don't know that is a possibility yet, maybe down the road. So for now, I'm assuming my room will be a bonus room, or 3rd bedroom type of room. I'm not against removing drywall and doing some sort of sound reinforcement. I don't know if I have the skill need to remove the floor to do the same. I doubt I'd be creating blockbusters in there (if I had a project like that, someone else would be handling post production of sound). Even if that we're the case, I like the idea of having a listening environment that I can receive their audio work, and be able to listen to it in a decent (non colored I think is the word) space.