• Wondering which camera, gear, computer, or software to buy? Ask in our Gear Guide.

Copyright Free Classical Music....?

Anyone know where/if I can get hold of some classical music that is either completely copyright free or very, very cheap?

Any leads will be greatly apprecialted.

Thanks

Well.... I dunno about Famous classical music for free, most of the recordings are heavily copyrighted. However, may I suggest a solution? I pressume ur looking for music for a film soundtrack? Well, I'd be more than happy to write some film music for u. I'm an amture composer and have been looking for ages for a film to write for. I'm just after the experience so it would be completely free. Email me or send me a private message if you're interested.

The music itself is generally free. If it's older music (Brams, Beethoven, Mozart, etc) but the recording is going to be copyrighted.

Depending on your budget you could get the sheet music and hire an orchestra to do a recording for you.. I hear the Prague orchestra is fairly cheap, and very talented.

Will's right. You can't use existing recordings, but providing the composer has been dead for 75 years the music is in the public domain.

You can pull together a small orchestra for practically nothing, especially in London where the major classical music colleges are.

The most difficult thing is getting the quality of the recording right. Orchestral recording is pretty much the hardest to achieve and requires a seriously high level of sound engineering. If it was me and I needed it dirt cheap I'd find a good binaural microphone and position it about six feet ahead of the orchestra in a room that isn't completley flat acooustically, but that has a little natural warmth. You'd get a really nice quality "live" sound from that kind of set up and it's easy to achieve.

Like all cheap/free solutions it's labour and organisational heavy, but you'd learn a massive amount about sound recording from the experience.